Counseling contre l'anxiété à Vancouver

Bonjour, je m'appelle Myriame et je suis une conseillère clinique agréée qui propose des conseils en matière d'anxiété à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, au Canada.

Vous pouvez être constamment inquiet de la façon dont vous vous présentez, hypervigilant envers les autres autour de vous, incapable de vous détendre et ressentir une oppression dans la poitrine ou avoir toujours mal au ventre. Je vous entends et je suis là pour vous aider.

 

J'ai la passion d'aider les gens à changer courageusement - à se sentir moins anxieux, inquiet ou nerveux - grâce à la conscience émotionnelle et la résilience, la pleine conscience et des pratiques fondées sur des preuves. En fin de compte, je veux que vous vous sentiez mieux.  

 

Si vous souhaitez créer un changement, planifiez une consultation téléphonique gratuite avec moi dès aujourd'hui. 

Anxiety counselling - BIPOC woman with hands on chest leaning against a couch

Mon approche de la thérapie de l'anxiété à Vancouver

L'anxiété est un changement d'humeur qui arrive à beaucoup d'entre nous. L'anxiété se caractérise par des sentiments d'inquiétude, de stress ou de nervosité et s'accompagne de symptômes somatiques tels que des tensions et des raideurs musculaires, des papillons dans l'estomac ou un serrement des mâchoires. Les personnes qui souffrent d'anxiété parlent d'être « énervés ou sur le qui-vive », de se sentir instables et hypervigilants, ou d'avoir des pensées ruminantes ou catastrophiques. Les personnes anxieuses peuvent également rester bloqués dans des schémas de pensée non-aidantes. Cette inquiétude est souvent exagérée et irréaliste, sans rien de spécifique pour la provoquer. Au Canada, les troubles anxieux touchent 5 % de la population à domicile, causant une déficience légère à grave (ACSM, 2021).

 

L'anxiété n'est pas rare, mais toujours mal comprise. Comme d'autres problèmes de santé mentale, l'anxiété peut nuire à nos engagements sociaux, professionnels et/ou familiaux. Par exemple, depuis COVID-19, certains personnes souffrent d'anxiété qui interfère avec leur capacité à effectuer des activités de la vie quotidienne (AVQ), telles que faire l'épicerie, promener un chien ou sortir avec des amis.  

 

L'anxiété peut avoir un impact différent sur chacun de nous. Ce n'est pas un défi unique. Les symptômes d'anxiété vont des papillons dans l'estomac, des tensions musculaires, de l'hypervigilance à la paralysie et aux attaques de panique. Vous pourriez même avoir des maux d'estomac ou de la diarrhée, même avec l'utilisation de Pepto Bismol.   

 

Une façon différente de comprendre l'anxiété qui m'a aidé au fil des ans, et qui est empruntée aux théories de la réponse au stress et de la psychothérapie dynamique expérientielle accélérée (AEDP), consiste à comprendre l'anxiété comme une émotion inhibitrice ou une émotion protectrice contre la menace. Cela peut être une menace réelle ou imaginaire qui découle de l'environnement mental, émotionnel, social ou physique. J'en suis venu à apprécier cette perspective d'anxiété parce qu'elle aide à expliquer ses symptômes comme une réponse automatique à un danger réel ou perçu qui vous maintient prêt à survivre. C'est une sorte de mécanisme de protection qui se déclenche inconsciemment pour vous garder en sécurité et en vie, même si cela demande beaucoup de ressources mentales et physiques.  

 

L'anxiété peut également apparaître lorsque les émotions fondamentales (comme la tristesse ou la colère) sont trop intenses et que votre cerveau veut les repousser, ou sont en conflit avec ce qui plaît aux autres dont vous avez besoin, comme les parents, les partenaires et les amis. Par exemple, tout comme la honte et la culpabilité, l'anxiété se manifeste par un manque de sommeil ou des difficultés de concentration sur votre lieu de travail lorsqu'être en colère contre votre collègue menace votre implication dans un projet passionnel.

 

Bien qu'il existe de nombreuses ressources et outils d'auto-assistance que vous pouvez utiliser pour améliorer votre humeur anxieuse, un moyen efficace de contourner l'anxiété et le stress consiste parfois à consulter. Pour soulager votre anxiété lors du conseil, nous explorerons votre histoire, établirons des liens entre les expériences passées, présentes et futures, découvrirons et développerons de nouvelles vérités et commencerons à guérir ce qui vous inquiète.  

 

Ensemble, nous aurons l'occasion d'intégrer la pleine conscience, l'expérience somatique, la conscience émotionnelle tout en utilisant des pratiques fondées sur des preuves, telles que la thérapie de traitement cognitif (CPT), la thérapie centrée sur la personne, la psychothérapie dynamique expérientielle accélérée (AEDP) et la désensibilisation et le retraitement des mouvements oculaires. (EMDR).

 

 

 

Si vous avez des questions sur cette perspective d'anxiété ou si vous souhaitez de l'aide à Vancouver, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

 

FAQ sur la thérapie de l'anxiété à Vancouver 

 

Quel type de conseiller aide avec l'anxiété?

Il existe de nombreux types de conseillers qui peuvent aider à lutter contre l'anxiété. Historiquement, les thérapeutes cognitifs, qui proposaient la TCC, la TDM ou la TPC, étaient populaires pour traiter les troubles anxieux et d'autres problèmes de santé mentale. Et au cours des dernières décennies, de nombreux autres modèles de thérapie réputés et fondés sur des preuves ont été développés et adoptés par des conseillers pour traiter avec succès l'anxiété et d'autres problèmes de santé mentale. Par exemple, certaines des thérapies interpersonnelles que je pratique, comme la psychothérapie dynamique expérientielle accélérée (AEDP), ont trouvé d'excellents résultats pour aider et soulager l'anxiété. Il existe de multiples façons de  traiter l'anxiété, être ouvert à de nombreuses possibilités de traitement et de soutien conduira à un plus grand succès dans l'atténuation des symptômes de l'anxiété.  

 

Le counseling aide-t-il à lutter contre l'anxiété?

Oui - le counseling sur l'anxiété peut être très utile pour améliorer l'humeur et la qualité de vie globale. Cependant, il est très important de trouver un style de thérapie et un conseiller qui vous conviennent. La thérapie de conseil n'est pas un modèle unique, mais plutôt un modèle unique. Cela signifie que certaines personnes peuvent « rechercher » la bonne thérapie et le bon conseiller afin de vraiment profiter des avantages du conseil. Il est normal d'essayer différents styles de thérapie et conseillers en cours de route. Il est également important de noter que ce qui fonctionne à un moment donné peut ne plus fonctionner à un moment donné, et donc être ouvert à différents styles et types de support est vraiment important pour obtenir les résultats que vous voulez et méritez.  

 

Comment puis-je obtenir des conseils gratuits en Colombie-Britannique?

Certains organismes et programmes en Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.) offrent des conseils gratuits. Cependant, les services de conseil gratuits ne sont pas la norme. Ce qui est plus courant, c'est que les organisations, les cliniques et les conseillers en pratique privée offrent des options à échelle mobile afin de rendre le conseil plus accessible. Par exemple, en tant que conseiller en pratique privée, j'offre une option d'échelle mobile et je travaille avec les clients pour trouver les honoraires qui nous conviennent tous les deux. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les options de conseil gratuites, les options de conseil à faible coût ou les options à échelle mobile, veuillez me contacter pour plus d'informations.

 

Combien cela coûte-t-il de traiter l'anxiété?

Il n'y a pas de coût spécifique ou généralisé pour traiter l'anxiété. Chacun est différent dans la façon dont son anxiété se manifeste, et donc dans la façon dont elle est traitée. En Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.), le coût moyen par séance de counseling ou rendez-vous se situe entre 120 $ et 150 $ par 50 minutes. Actuellement, une session de 50 minutes avec moi coûte 130 $ plus TPS,  tandis qu'une session de 80 minutes coûte 145 $ plus la TPS.  

 

Obtenez de l'aide contre l'anxiété à Vancouver auprès d'un conseiller clinique agréé

 

Je sais qu'il est difficile de faire le premier pas pour obtenir de l'aide. Merci d'être ici.  

 

Il est normal de « rechercher » un conseiller et cela peut prendre un certain temps avant de trouver le bon. Si vous vous sentez un peu curieux à propos de moi ou de mes services de conseil, veuillez nous contacter pour une consultation téléphonique gratuite de 15 minutes pour voir si je suis la bonne personne pour vous.

Anxiety Counselling - Young BIPOC man hugging legs while sitting on the floor

Anxiety Therapy in Vancouver FAQs 

 

What type of counsellor helps with anxiety?

There are many different types of counsellors that can help with anxiety. Historically cognitive therapists, who offered CBT, CT, or CPT were popular for treating anxiety disorders, and other mental health challenges. And in the last few decades, many other reputable and evidence-based therapy models have been developed and adopted by counsellors to successfully treat anxiety and other mental health challenges. For instance, some of the interpersonal therapies that I practice, like accelerated experiential dynamic psychotherapy (AEDP), have found great results in helping and relieving anxiety. There are multiple ways of  treating anxiety, being open to many treatment and support possibilities will lead to greater success in alleviating the symptoms of anxiety. 

 

Does counselling help with anxiety?

Yes - anxiety counselling can be very helpful in improving mood and overall quality of life. However it is very important to find a therapy style and counsellor that is the right fit for you. Counselling therapy is not a one-size-fits-all model, but rather more of a one-size-fits-one model. This means that some people may ‘shop around’ for the right therapy and counsellor in order to really gain the benefits of counselling. It is normal to try a few different therapy styles and counsellors along the way. It is also important to note that what works at one point in time may no longer work at a different point in time, and so being open to different styles and types of support is really important to getting the results that you want and deserve. 

 

How can I get free counselling in BC?

There are some organizations and programs in British Columbia (BC) that offer free counselling. However free counselling services are not the norm. What is more common is to have organizations, clinics and counsellors in private practice offer sliding scale options so that counselling is made more accessible. For instance as a private practice counsellor, I offer a sliding scale option and work with clients to find the fee that works for us both. If you would like to learn more about free counselling options, low-cost counselling options or sliding scale options please contact me for more information.

How much does it cost to treat anxiety?

There is no specific or generalized cost to treat anxiety. Everyone is different in the way that their anxiety shows up, and therefore in the way that it is treated. In British Columbia (BC), the average cost per counselling session or appointment is between $120 to $150 per 50 minutes. Currently a 50 minutes session with me is $130 plus GST,  while an 80 minutes session is $145 plus GST.  

Get anxiety help in Vancouver from a Registered Clinical Counsellor

I know taking the first step to getting support is hard. Thank you for being here. 

“Shopping around” for a counsellor is normal, and it can take some time to find the right one. If you feel a tad bit curious about me or my counselling services, please reach out for a free 15 minutes phone consultation to see if I’m the right fit for you.

Anxiety counselling - Millennial woman with hand covering face

Anxiety Counselling in Vancouver

Hello, my name is Myriame, and I’m a Registered Clinical Counsellor offering anxiety counselling in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

You may be constantly worrying about how you come across, hypervigilant of others around you, unable to relax and feeling tightness in your chest or always have a stomachache. I hear you, and I’m here to help.

 

I have a passion for helping people courageously change - feel less anxious, worried or nervous - through emotional awareness and resilience, mindfulness, and evidence-based practices. Ultimately, I want you to feel better.  

 

If you’re curious about creating a change, schedule a free phone consultation with me today. 

Image by Joice Kelly

My approach to anxiety therapy in Vancouver

Anxiety is a change in mood that happens to many of us. Anxiety is characterized by feelings of worry, stress or nervousness and is accompanied by somatic symptoms like muscle tension and stiffness, butterflies in the stomach, or jaw clenching. Folkx who experience anxiety talk about being “wound up or on edge”, feeling unsettled and hypervigilant, or having ruminating or catastrophizing thoughts. Folkx with anxiety can also get stuck in "what ifs" thinking patterns. This worry is often exaggerated and unrealistic, with nothing specific to provoke it. In Canada, anxiety disorders affect 5% of the household population, causing mild to severe impairment (CMHA, 2021).

 

Anxiety is not uncommon, but still misunderstood. Like other mental health challenges, anxiety can impair our social, occupational and/or familial engagements. For example, since COVID-19, some folkx have been experiencing anxiety that interferes with their ability to do activities of daily live (ADL), such as grocery shopping, dog walking, or hanging out with friends. 

 

Anxiety can impact each of us differently. It is not a one-size-fits-all challenge. Anxiety symptoms go from butterflies in the stomach, muscle tension, hypervigilance to paralysis and panic attacks. You might even experience an upset stomach or diarrhea, even with the use of Pepto Bismol.   

 

A different way of understanding anxiety that has helped me over the years, and that is borrowed from theories of the Stress Response and Accelerated Experiential Dynamic Psychotherapy (AEDP), is understanding anxiety as an inhibitory emotion or protective emotion to threat. This can be a real or imagined threat that stems from the mental, emotional, social, or physical environments. I have come to appreciate this perspective of anxiety because it helps explain its symptoms as an automatic response to real or perceived danger that keeps you ready to survive. It is a sort of protective mechanism that is unconsciously triggered to keep you safe and alive, even if it demands a lot of mental and physical resources. 

 

Anxiety can also appear when core emotions (like sadness or anger) are too intense and your brain wants to push them away, or are in conflict with what pleases others you need like parents, partners and friends. For instance, like shame and guilt, anxiety shows up as poor sleep or difficulty concentrating at your workplace when being angry with your colleague threatens your involvement in a passion project.

 

While there are a lot of self-help resources and tools that you can do to improve your anxious mood, sometimes a powerful way to turn anxiety and stress around is by going to counselling. To help your anxiety in counselling, we will explore your story, make connections between past, present and future experiences, uncover and expand new truths, and start healing what is keeping you worried. 

 

Together we will have the opportunity to integrate mindfulness, somatic experiencing, emotional awareness while using evidence-based practices, such as cognitive processing therapy (CPT), person-centred therapy, accelerated experiential dynamic psychotherapy (AEDP), and eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR).

 

If you have any questions about this perspective of anxiety or want help in Vancouver, feel free to get in touch. 

 

 

 

Anxiety Therapy in Vancouver FAQs 

 

What type of counsellor helps with anxiety?

There are many different types of counsellors that can help with anxiety. Historically cognitive therapists, who offered CBT, CT, or CPT were popular for treating anxiety disorders, and other mental health challenges. And in the last few decades, many other reputable and evidence-based therapy models have been developed and adopted by counsellors to successfully treat anxiety and other mental health challenges. For instance, some of the interpersonal therapies that I practice, like accelerated experiential dynamic psychotherapy (AEDP), have found great results in helping and relieving anxiety. There are multiple ways of  treating anxiety, being open to many treatment and support possibilities will lead to greater success in alleviating the symptoms of anxiety. 

 

Does counselling help with anxiety?

Yes - anxiety counselling can be very helpful in improving mood and overall quality of life. However it is very important to find a therapy style and counsellor that is the right fit for you. Counselling therapy is not a one-size-fits-all model, but rather more of a one-size-fits-one model. This means that some people may ‘shop around’ for the right therapy and counsellor in order to really gain the benefits of counselling. It is normal to try a few different therapy styles and counsellors along the way. It is also important to note that what works at one point in time may no longer work at a different point in time, and so being open to different styles and types of support is really important to getting the results that you want and deserve. 

 

How can I get free counselling in BC?

There are some organizations and programs in British Columbia (BC) that offer free counselling. However free counselling services are not the norm. What is more common is to have organizations, clinics and counsellors in private practice offer sliding scale options so that counselling is made more accessible. For instance as a private practice counsellor, I offer a sliding scale option and work with clients to find the fee that works for us both. If you would like to learn more about free counselling options, low-cost counselling options or sliding scale options please contact me for more information.

 

How much does it cost to treat anxiety?

There is no specific or generalized cost to treat anxiety. Everyone is different in the way that their anxiety shows up, and therefore in the way that it is treated. In British Columbia (BC), the average cost per counselling session or appointment is between $120 to $150 per 50 minutes. Currently a 50 minutes session with me is $130 plus GST,  while an 80 minutes session is $145 plus GST.  

 

Get anxiety help in Vancouver from a Registered Clinical Counsellor

 

I know taking the first step to getting support is hard. Thank you for being here. 

 

“Shopping around” for a counsellor is normal, and it can take some time to find the right one. If you feel a tad bit curious about me or my counselling services, please reach out for a free 15 minutes phone consultation to see if I’m the right fit for you.